MakeWebGames

Text Editors

I'm curious as to what you all use for editing text. Currently, I use Crimson (Emerald) Editor, Notepad++ and GVim, depending on what I am working with. Crimson is the most common choice though.

Has anyone come across a really good editor with full regex support?

For example, I would like to search/replace (\d*\.\d{0.8})(\d*) and replace it with the first group ( or \1 ) (for those of you unfamiliar with Regex, this would truncate any numbers within the file to 8 decimals)

I was able to do what I was after with a couple of other tools, but a single tool would be preferable.

I use gvim too, and gvim has regex search/replace, doesn't it?

vim does have regex search to a degree, but it is a limited set, that or it requires special notation. (I'm still learning how to use it and I've been using it for 3 years now! :p)

it could find a digit, followed by a decimal point, followed by a digit (/\d\.\d), or any literal combination of (/\d\d\.\d\d\d\d) but when I tried looking for 1 or more digits (/\d*) it always found the next character.

It is entirely possibly that I did something wrong and gvim could do what I was after. I do know it can replace with a backreference.

Same is true of Crimson Editor and Notepad++, both could find the pattern I was after if I kept it literal, but when I added the bits to make it variable, the search failed. I am not sure if either of them allow a backreference replacement either.

I will have to look into Zend IDE, considering 2 people have already mentioned it.

PS....here's a fun vim command: g/^/m0 :p

Anyone else have any other good text editors they use?

All the votes for Zend Studio.....too bad its a paid IDE...

So far, the editors mentioned that I am aware of (Crimson and N++) use the Scintilla Regex engine, which is a little more restricted than the full specs.