MakeWebGames

SEO - Where to start?

Zettieee

I'm no SEO expert; however, meta tags are certainly a good place to start. Setting "keywords" in those tags that relate to what your site is about. If you have a "Web Game", then have a key phrase of "Web Game" somewhere in a tag. Things like that.

~G7470

Search engines use meta tags to get an idea of (hopefully) what your site is about. So to go off of the example I gave [uSER=69001]Zettieee[/uSER], if I type into Google "Web Game", if I have a meta tag with "Web Game" in it, the site is going to be in the results. Will it be on the first page? Highly doubt it (as they use the site's popularity and page content to rank them in the results), but it will be in the results somewhere. If you want your site to be high up in the results, either A) use keywords that are not very commonly searched (which is counter-intuitive for SEO), or B) use other SEO techniques, which again, I'm no SEO expert, so I'm not sure what those might be.

EDIT: Also, if you're one that advertises your site outside of word-of-mouth, meta tags are used on social media sites as well. If you copy/paste a site's URL into Facebook for example, the value of the meta tag's "description" field will fall underneath the site's title on a "tile" link (if you're on Facebook, I hope you know what I mean by that - I don't know the term for it!).

~G7470

Alright guys. I posted this up to see if boionfire81 would bother to reply.

I helped him in almost all his posts. I gave him a day to login and reply. He logged in and didn't bother.

Guess who isn't get any help from me :)

//sorry to waste some peoples time but I guess we all learned something.

• Like 1

Well, it looks like some people have found interest in this topic, so I wouldn't say that my time was wasted providing what I knew about it. Maybe others will see this topic and contribute - who knows.

~G7470