MakeWebGames

I am in Dire Straits!!

eXtremen00b

As my name would imply I am an absolute extreme noob you guys. Could someone please please please help me out???

I was basically given a game by someone and I have access to cPanel and everything. I have been self educating myself in html, css, javascript, and a little php over the past couple of weeks and I am still nowhere near knowledgeable enough to figure out what is wrong with the game. It has to do with the cron jobs. I can run the cron jobs manually and each and every one runs successfully. The game has minute, five minute, hourly, and daily crons. They just won't run automatically. The energy, brave, and will bars are not refilling as they should. People that are in jail or hospital have been there for days because those timers aren't counting down. I don't know what to do. Please help...

Silly Question to start off with are your Crons actually selected in the cron jobs to run or is that page blank ?

1 if the game was given to you are you still using their cpanel or a domain youve had to re-register for yourself?

2 if you do have cronjobs does the cron pass from config.php or mysql.php match those on the cron jobs.

3 you can run crons manually which means they are working so must be a cronjob issue from cpanel

check all of the above and reply to post please...

Edited by illusions

LOL!! I'm a dork. I clik on access cPanel, clik on Cron Jobs and at the bottom where it says Current Cron Jobs it says No Cron Jobs. It was the first time clicking on that so yea I'm just now discovering that. How do I go about adding Cron Jobs? I have no idea what to add to the command field... Answers to your questions:

1. I am using the cPanel he gave me the username and password for. I just changed the username and password and email address associated with it. I didn't re-register or anything.

2. Don't really follow what this question is asking. Sorry. I am so out of my league, lol...