MakeWebGames

Register.php create user on SMF Forum

CHAMAVELI

Hey guys, I want to know is it possible if I had both MySQL tables of SMF and Mccodes V2 to run on the same Database, and then modify the register on both to correspond with eachother. Example:

1. A guy registers to Mccode V2 game and plays a bit.

2. He then needs help about the game so he goes to the forums.

3. He logs into the forum without registering because it's automatically done when he signed up for the Mccode game.

Thanks.

Re: Register.php create user on SMF Forum

It's possible but you'll need to know where to look. When they register, insert the same info into the smf database (being sure to alter it to comply with say their password hashing)

That's about it. Also most forums allow you to add a table prefix, so if you prefix the forum tables with something like "smf_" you'll be able to recognize them in the same db

I'm by no means an expert on this, but I do believe mdshare has spoken about this before.

If I recall what he said correctly, he recommends using the smf registration and login for registering new users and for logging into the game.

Your users table would then be the smf users table.

This of course would mean that any place in mccodes where the users table is used, you would have to edit in the appropriate table name. Possibly smf_users. And then you would have to edit in the appropriate column names. You may be able to put in column names that are the same names that mccodes uses.

This approach would allow one login to login your users to both the game and the forums.

If you have a seperate users table for both, and if you do not modify the login system, then your game and your forum will require seperate logins.

I'm sure this isn't exhaustive information of the subject, but it should suffice to say that it requires a lot of work to make it seamless.