MakeWebGames

Vagrant

Does anyone here use vagrant? The reason I ask is because I am looking for a decent box that comes with a LAMP stack. Now before people say why use LAMP, why not LEMP? Well, because it's vagrant and what I am working on is using Apache.

My whole problem is that I am not good at all with Ruby, bash, .sh, etc and can't have too much configuring around otherwise I will break it and have to start over again much like I have been doing. I suck at starting up webhosts which is the bottom line here

I have gone to PuPHPet and configured a nice little vagrant box there but I can't get MySQL connection settings to work no matter what I try. I can connect remotely using Sequal Pro and a ssh connection but I can't connect with my local site that is using codeigniter. I have no clue what I am doing wrong, he'll I can't even get it to connect with a hostname to get to the dev site like using my-site.dev I have to connect with the IP address haha.

Any my help is greatly appreciated

I'm not sure if I completely understand you however you're are having connection issues with your code, so how're you connecting? What is your host? Do you need to specify a port? When I tried connecting to a server which was setup using Ubuntu I was using MySQL workbench where I would specify the port however in the code if i specified the port it wouldn't connect not sure why. I suggest you speak with Nick in WsIRC.

I am using Codeigniter's db class and I have tried almost every combo imaginable to connect.

I have tried:

localhost with the following:

username: root

password: root

username: vagrant

password: vagrant

private ip

I can connect remotely using:

ssh user: vagrant

ssh pass: vagrant

mysql user: root

mysql pass: root

so you want to access your MySQL server remotely from a different machine? if so there are two options.

1) You can open a ssh tunnel from you local PC to the remote server to forward the mysql port (usualy 3306)