MakeWebGames

Hi interest in making a new game

sergeant

Hi my name is sergeant.

I have been programming for a couple years now and have learnt a bit about php, html 5, css and C#

I would like very much to start a game and my budget is around $500.

I need advice on whether i should buy a pre coded game engine (mccodes?) or create my own.

If so i would like some pms.

ps. Im 16 so sorry if anything i say sounds immature :P

Build your own. It'll take a good long while, but you'll be a lot more familiar with the code, and it'll help make your game more unique.

What you should do though, is plan your game out, fully. Then code the game based on your plans, that way you'll know what you need to do and what you don't need to do. If you haven't already, research databases and SQL. Then look into MySQL. It'll most likely be the database program you'll be using.

Another thing you need to consider is a great web design. Your game could be the best in world but if it doesn't look good, you won't get the players you could or should.

Also look into PHP security, that's a massive deal when creating games.

Also if you investing money into this, then your more than likely going to want to get money out. To that end you'll need to look at it with a business perspective. Work out your outgoings and plan your incomings. Do a small business plan. Where will the money come in from? How much will I need to set aside for marketing? Will the perceived user base have reason to donate/pay for features or bonuses? Will pay-per-click ads make up any short comings? Do I need to hire a graphic designer or programmer?

If your serious about making this game, you need to consider these. The most important thing is uniqueness. Some players like playing the same style of game, but almost all will look for variances and differences, a reason to continue to play your game and invest time and money into it.

Hope this helps :)

Great read and i agree with you mostly.