MakeWebGames

McCodes cookie/login issues?

seanybob

Just something I've noticed about the mccodes engine...

It seems the 'remember me' option for logging in doesn't (and never has) worked. I've always had users report their cookie dying after a specific amount of minutes on the site, then having to re-login again.

I have very little experience with cookies - anyone redone the mccodes cookie? Any tips/hints from people familiar with this part of the mccodes for me? Anyone else have this prob?

RE: McCodes cookie/login issues?

Just something I've noticed about the mccodes engine...

It seems the 'remember me' option for logging in doesn't (and never has) worked. I've always had users report their cookie dying after a specific amount of minutes on the site, then having to re-login again.

I have very little experience with cookies - anyone redone the mccodes cookie? Any tips/hints from people familiar with this part of the mccodes for me? Anyone else have this prob?

Yes correct this feature does not work.. I Will look into it in a second.

What I have found is that all the cookie info stored by the default login.php for mccodes seems completely superfluous. Completely unnecessary, and on my default site weren't even created.

The only cookie created was the sessionid cookie, and that was created by session_start() on the authenticate page.

So my next question... how to make the session last longer? I would prefer being able to dynamically choose how long the session lasts, but would accept just being able to set the session to last for 7 days.

Any info on that?

Check this:

http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum88/4186.htm