MakeWebGames

Knowing what data would be essential to store and how (Game writing, storage)

I am not very experienced with database storage as I would like to be.

For example, let's say users have different buildings, i.e. farms, barracks etc. Each building has a level. Now, let's say a user would like to upgrade an building and based on an condition is allowed to upgrade x buildings at a time (upgrading a building would obviously take certain time, like one hour, our two based on what level the building currently is on).

What would I need to store, how would the table be structured? It should also be noted that it may not only be buildings that may be upgrades, let's assume even some other resource/entity could be upgraded such as troops.

Also, how would I store the conditions required (let's say to upgrade Building A to level 2, I need Building B in level 1). ( I am well aware this could be hard-coded, If, let's say I had a class for each building, but is that essential, or is data storing in a database, or just to make it simpler, we don't use classes for each building (which may be the way to go...)

Not much information provided, but let's start off from here, you can make your own assumptions if needed, we're not talking about a current game with a current architecture, but just generally - as I'd like to plan out my game architecture before actually writing it.

• Ensure you normalize your database

Here's a quick mockup I did

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `buildings` (
 `id` MEDIUMINT(5) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
 `name` VARCHAR(25) NOT NULL,
 `upgrade_condition` TEXT(1000),
 `price` MEDIUMINT(5) NOT NULL
);

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `user_buildings` (
 `user_id` MEDIUMINT(5) NOT NULL,
 `building_id` MEDIUMINT(5) NOT NULL,
 `level` SMALLINT(3) NOT NULL DEFAULT 1,
 `upgrade_in` INT(10) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0
);

INSERT INTO `buildings` (`name`,`upgrade_condition`,`price`) 
VALUES ('Farm', 'level > 4', 1000),