MakeWebGames

Need help starting off on my game

MrCbrl95

hey guys, i just registered here because i need a forums where i can come back to in case i need help developing my game. this site seems pretty good.

well i get right to it now. i plan to make a mmorpg browser text based game with some 2d graphics. it should be easy because it will probably just have alot of "if this", "then do this" type of scripting since its text based, but i wanna hear it from more experienced people, which program should i use for making this game? im not experienced in java, flash, openGL, python.. nothing really, im gunna start looking into it now however and ill come back to this forums if i have other questions i cant find the answers to on my own. i just wanna know on which direction i should be heading.

How are you at making graphics, you explained what you can't code but didn't explain your no good with photoshop or other web designing software.

um ive used blender GUI engine for 3d rendering before, and ive never used photoshop but i have used GIMP image manipulater which is similar. ive made a few games in batch file scripting, thats how i sorta understand the "if this", "then do this" type of scripting. currently im studying a bit of HTML, and ive been told to study HTML, CSS, PHP, and MySQL because its good to know. i just wanna hear from someone else to confirm what i should be doing, to know which direction i should lead towards. sorry, im such a noob

Hey, I'd say, if you think you may have the money, and some patience, I'd wait for Mccodes V3 to release, or alternatively you can NWE, and buy it, it would give your game a great start, and while your learning, I'd suggest uploading all your files to your localhost, and adding / creating mods. When you think you have a decent enough result, go ahead and put it online. ;)

Good luck. ;)