MakeWebGames

Game with no name - online browser RPG

max3009

Hi,

I have created my own 2D game engine using HTML5 Canvas + JavaScript(Node.js). Apart from the node infrastructure and graphics, I have built this from scratch.

It is still in development, therefore I cant provide a direct link for you to play, but I have a quick youtube video to highlight my game and the map editor.

I am not very good at video editing so its just a quick showcase of running around the map, creatures following and attacking, spells, logging in and out, changing the map and reloading, and NPCS. The graphics are ripped from another game I used to play, obviously I will be replacing these with my own eventually. I just needed something fast to test with. I am self taught and this is my first major scale game that I am attempting, but so far so good.

Please take a look at my channel and if you have any comments, feel free to post.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfTiD1IpXjuQxtZFN_N1tsA

Thanks,

Max

746424482_ScreenShot2019-01-20at18_11_24.thumb.png.387c960e657655da5162b95df18584aa.png

1497163620_ScreenShot2019-03-13at00_03_39.thumb.png.5474d1ec4082bb86f26dccdddbf25cb1.png

Edited by max3009

I'm liking it so far! Have to give you props, building something like this takes quite a lot of work.

Just a couple of comments I noticed while watching the videos:

1. In your conversation with "Captain", you were typing out what I'm assuming were key phrases in chat in order to work with the NPC. What is your plan for making sure that the user knows what those commands are?
  2. I noticed when you were using what I'm guessing are spells, the entire game lags quite a bit. How do you plan on cleaning that up?
  3. During your attack sequence, I was having a hard time splitting up between the levels of the building in the map. I'm hoping that using your own graphics will clean that up, so this might be a moot point, but something to consider.