MakeWebGames

Hi! (Newbie With Questions :)

Breezi

Howdy, I'm Breezi. I've been lurking the forums for a while and just decided to register and post. I've been tossing the idea of building a game around for a long time. My idea has evolved from a MUD to a Browser game. I just love text adventures :)

Anyway, I am just starting out with PHP and other web dev type things, but I have a notebook full of things that are waiting to be put into a game. I would like to buy NWE, but I have a few questions.

1. How much programming knowledge to you need to customize a game, using this engine.
  2. If I buy the Developer plus a few modules that I will use to make the game. If I do this, does any of that count toward the purchase of a full licence? (SOrry, I'm a low budget!)
  3. How complex of a game could I create? Torn City is an inspiration that I have.

Actually, I thought I had more, but that's it :)

Thanks in advance!

1) To fill content (quests, story, items, npc and much more) you need initially no programming knowledge as all of that can be done via the admin interface, but if you want to modify some of the logic, or add new features, either you need to pay somebody to do it for you or you will need to do it yourself. On the other side, if you have features requests which could fit for a generic engine, I mean something which is not only for your own game but could be used by a wide number of games, then I'm willing to invest time to make another module which will be delivered in the full package.

2) The developer version is not meant to be used in production like a public game. The developer version is meant to be used by people which just want to develop modules and sell them. Also, if you check the price of the individual modules you will soon discover that the full version is much cheaper than the dev + the modules.