MakeWebGames

[MOD] Item Market Auction

Uridium

Guest Anonymous

Re: [MOD] Item Market Auction

Just have a look in these forums, there are plenty of topics discussing various methods of protecting this type of code. - All I'm doing is pointing out that the software as it stands should not be used on production boxes,

Im hoping this one will solve the solution if not i will remove the post until i can make it safe..

Place below the include "globals.php"; on each page

function escapeString($string) { 
if (get_magic_quotes_gpc()) $string = stripslashes($string); 
return mysql_real_escape_string($string); 
}

Guest Anonymous

what do you mean by very insecure? cos im a noob and its working perfectly :?

Well.... what can I say --

Running a game covers a lot of skills, initially it (IMO) requires the ability to create something "new" -- I've looked at hundreds of this genre of game, and seen none that are different or unusual enough to make me stop and pay more attention.

Next is the ability to make it look good - Almost all these games are the same:

+------------------+
| Header           |
+------+-----------+
| Menu | Body      |
+------+-----------+
| Copyright        |
+------------------+

Try to think outside the box. This requires HTML, and CSS skills

Next... your target audience - Well I know from looking around that there are a lot of angry, infantile people out there who just want to cause mayhem wherever they go.

This requires a lot more thought -- Good PHP and SQL knowledge is essential here. I won't explain *why* the script above is insecure, as it's not my place and it would not be responsible, however lets say it won't be running on any systems I run.