MakeWebGames

Security Alert

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

It has recently been discovered that date and numeric field types under SQL *may* be prone to a particular type of injection attack.

Up till now, normally we correctly escaped all string fields, however it may be that more stringent checking will be required on the standard date and numeric field types. This will mean correct range checking and date validation however you should all being done this anyway.

It's not clear as to exactly which SQL databases are affected by this issue, however the advice is check everything, twice, then do it again just to make sure.

Re: Security Alert

I recommend using a time stamp in an integer field. It might not be as fast as using a date field, and the value stored won't be "human readable" but it's super simple to ensure there is absolutely no possibility of injections.

Again, this is my personal recommendation coming from a person who is largely self taught, and has no specific credentials given by MySQL in the form of diplomas, degrees, or anything like that, but has studied hard and learned a lot.

Guest Anonymous

Actually it's faster IIRC.

Assuming you use :

$sql = sprintf("UPDATE table SET last_modified = %u", time());

rather than

$sql = "UPDATE table SET last_modified = UNIX_TIMESTAMP();"

That way ALL times are based on the web-server's idea of time, NOT the data server's (which *could* be in a different time zone).

My peers all suggest I use the DB server's time functions so the data is human readable, ... well in some respects I agree with them, but I prefer having a simple integer. I know 99% of SQL engines have the DATE/TIME field types, however (as always) some work differently to others. -- Notably SQL Server IIRC which permits milli/micro second timestamps to be stored directly.

Glad you mentioned that. I've been using the mysql UNIX_TIMESTAMP more and more instead of inserting a php generated timestamp