MakeWebGames

Crons, Timestamp or none?

Lithium

At first, let me give a small intro about myself.

I am Pedro, born, raised, and living Portugal. I work in IT related jobs since 93. Currently i work as a sysadm at one of the major ISP's around here and am in charge of near 500 servers, with a few different flavours. My knowledge on programming is limited, and i do not intend at this stage of my life, to increase it further more, only on a job needed base and that's all. As of DB's i work mainly with Oracle and SQL. And this is the reason that lead me to write these lines, not to teach but to give a tiny small approach on MySQL capabilities.

As the title says, the use of crons is the most widely use because mainly the limitations of the offered DB solution by the hosting companies (MySQL).

What if you could create jobs from inside the DB itself to make the work that usually you would be doing by the use of crons or even timestamped events?

Well as of MySQL 5.1 you can do it. Jobs on MySQL are simply called events, and they work EXACTLY the same way as your crons.

I will ilustrate with a small example, but remember that only MySQL 5.1 or higher is capable to do this. (xampp releases already have MySQL 5.1.30 (v1.7.0))

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `table` (
 `tID` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
 `tDATETIME` datetime NOT NULL,
 UNIQUE KEY `tID` (`tID`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=1 ;

And after

CREATE EVENT gettime
ON SCHEDULE EVERY 1 MINUTE DO
INSERT INTO test.table values ('',current_timestamp)

Now let's enable the event

set global event_scheduler = 1;

As you can see the semanthics is very similar to what you are already used to...

And 9 minutes later

SELECT * FROM test.table

1 	2009-03-28 18:12:17
2 	2009-03-28 18:13:17
3 	2009-03-28 18:14:17
4 	2009-03-28 18:15:17
5 	2009-03-28 18:16:17
6 	2009-03-28 18:17:17
7 	2009-03-28 18:18:17
8 	2009-03-28 18:19:17
9 	2009-03-28 18:20:17