MakeWebGames

How does Floydian do it?

Floydian

Okay, you can stop laughing now! (sideways...) Oh alright alright, all kidding aside...

I've decided to document who I am as a programmer. Since I'm a web developer, there's a number of technologies that I use. But being a web developer involves more than just programming, so I'm going to be talking about a number of different subjects including how I go about programming. How did I get my start, how do I work, and of course I'm going to be talking about the code.

The big push right now, is on javascript programming. It's a very tough language to learn. But it's not because it's a hard language, but because the quality of tutorials is lacking. I can't tell you how much crap I've seen on the net as far as js tutorials. Almost none of them use js coding conventions. Pretty much none of them push non obtrusive techniques. And very few tutorials use a js library which I consider to be a must for all js developers.

Now, this series of text talks isn't posted on this site for a number of reasons. First and foremost, I'm hosting live examples of the code which I can't do here. Secondly, I wanted more control over the formatting of the talks. I'm an HTML guy, not a bbcode guy...

Thirdly, I wanted to be able to go back and edit at will, at any time, in case mistakes were made or typos are found. There is no discussion are on the site where this is hosted. It's not a commercial site. There is only one advertisement which is a referral link to the company I use for hosting. I encourage all readers to post their questions here on this site where I check daily and will respond to your questions/comments/suggestions and anything else you have for me.

If I haven't lost you yet, I invite you to take part in my text talks series and I hope it helps you out a lot!

Here's the link:

http://www.steelbreeze.us/index.php?p=soyouwanna

Re: How does Floydian do it?