MakeWebGames

Sick and Tired of Them

Arson

:x :x :x

I am flat out sick and tired of people trying to sell mods that dont belong to them. I personally dont sell mods, but I see other peoples' mods being resold illegally all the time and it really pisses me off because coders work hard and spend a lot of time on their work (i know because im a coder duh) and then someone turns around and sells it like its their own without any work at all. Its making it rather hard to trust people. If I start selling mods I will only sell them to the people I trust not to resell and capitalize off someone elses work. What do you guys think about these theives?!

Re: Sick and Tired of Them

I'm with you Arson. I'm in the same boat, I don't sell most of the mods I write (I want to keep them unique). Even if I were to consider selling more, I'd be very concerned about this trend and lack of ethics. Unfortunately, there is not a lot that can be done about it. It would take hours and hours of searching this forum to see who's been trustworthy and who clearly hasn't. *sigh*

Of course the Free MC Codes doesn't help this situation.

I agree with you both! UCC there is stuff that can be done, HOWEVER, it's a HUGE cost. But regardless, I have custom mods that I did MYSELF on Kingsandpwns and I wont sell them because I don't want people reselling them. I have a crystal crops mod, I was accused of stealing ideas from Travian, LMFAO, regardless, I think that we need to do something, don't know what yet though.

Off topic, but, Arson do you still need that graphic designer? :P

I dont think there is any way for us to stop them other than using an encryptor like Zend Guard or Copyrighting it by going through the actual legal copyrighting process. People keep saying its Uber expensive to do that though.